Keyword Site Search

LAF Recognizes Recipients of Its Highest Honors
The Foundation Announces 2017 Medal and Founders' Award Recipients


A native of Germany, Cornelia Hahn Oberlander the 2017 LAF Medal recipient, fled with her family from the terror of the Nazi regime in 1939 and settled in the United States, where she attended Smith College. Cornelia has earned national and international acclaim for her work, including the ASLA Medal from the American Society of Landscape Architects, the Margolese National Design for Living Prize from the University of British Columbia, and the Sir Geoffrey Jellicoe Award from the International Federation of Landscape Architects.

The Landscape Architecture Foundation is delighted to announce the recipients of its 2017 LAF Medal and Founders' Awards. These two annual awards are LAF's highest honors and recognize individuals and firms or organizations that have made a significant and sustained contribution to the LAF mission of supporting the preservation, improvement and enhancement of the environment.

LAF Medal
The LAF Medal is conveyed to a landscape architect for distinguished work over a career in applying the principles of sustainability to landscapes. The 2017 LAF Medal goes to Cornelia Hahn Oberlander, OC, MBCSCLA, FCSCLA, FASLA.

"Cornelia Hahn Oberlander once said, 'I dream of green cities and green buildings where rural and urban activities live in harmony.' With a career spanning a stunning seventy years, she has created just that," said awards committee chair Dennis Carmichael, FASLA.


The LAF Founders' award is an honor given to an agency or firm that has committed to the preservation of landscapes over a sustained period of time. The 2017 recipient is the National Park Service.

LAF Founders' Award
The LAF Founders' Award is conveyed to a firm, agency, or organization that demonstrates a significant commitment to preserving, creating, or enhancing landscapes over a sustained period of time. The 2017 recipient is the U.S. National Park Service.

"In no small way are landscape architects and their organizations, including the Landscape Architecture Foundation, indebted to the National Park Service for its leadership, ethics, and works of landscape architecture," said Carmichael on behalf of the awards committee.

The LAF Board Emeritus Council manages the nomination and selection process for the awards. Members of the 2017 award committee were:
o Dennis Carmichael, FASLA, Parker Rodriguez, Chair
o Chip Crawford, FASLA, Forum Studio
o Chris Dimond, FASLA, AICP, PWP Landscape Architecture
o Richard Hawks, FASLA, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry
o Len Hopper, FASLA, Weintraub Diaz Landscape Architecture
o Ginger Murphy, ASLA, U.S. Department of Agriculture

The recipients will be honored during LAF's 2017 Awards Dinner on May 3 in Washington, D.C. For more information visit

HTML Comment Box is loading comments...

December 17, 2018, 12:29 am PST

Website problems, report a bug.
Copyright © 2018 Landscape Communications Inc.