Keyword Site Search

STMA Field of the Year Winners Announced

2016 Field of the Year winners to be Featured in Sports Turf Magazine


Since 1981, the STMA and its 34 local chapters have been providing education, information and sharing practical knowledge in the art of sports field management.

The Sports Turf Managers Association recently issued a statement announcing the winners of the 2016 Field of the Year Award. The STMA is the professional association for the 2,600 men and women who manage baseball, football, soccer, softball and other sporting playing surfaces at the recreational, collegiate and professional levels.

Eleven judges independently scored entries based on playability, appearance of surfaces, utilization of innovative solutions, effective use of budget and implementation of a comprehensive agronomic program. Winning fields will be featured in a 2017 issue of Sports Turf Magazine, the official monthly publication of the STMA.

The 2016 Field of the Year Winners are:
• Anthony DeFeo, Smokies Stadium at Tennessee Smokies Kodak, Tenn.
• Joel White, Toyota Park at Chicago Fire Bridgeview, Ill.
• Noel Harryman, Infinity Park at City of Glendale Glendale, Colo.

College and University
• Rob Galdieri, Pacer Field at Marywood University Scranton, Pa.
• Amy Fouty, Spartan Stadium at Michigan State University East Lansing, Mich.
• Kevin White, Merlo Field at University of Portland Portland, Ore.
• Rob Galdieri, Pacer Field at Marywood University Scranton, Pa.
• Shane Hohlbein, 5/3 Bank Stadium at Kennesaw State Kennesaw, Ga.

Schools and Parks
• Will Rogers, The Nest at Clover School District Clover, S.C.
• Brian Dossett, Carson Stadium at Christ Church Episcopal School Greenville, S.C.
• Joshua Weigel, White River Soccer Complex at Noblesville High School Noblesville, Ind.
• Ken Edwards, Champs Field at Gulfport SportsPlex Gulfport, Miss.
• Marc Moran, Raiders Stadium at Atlee High School Mechanicsville, Va.

"Through the 'Field of the Year Program,' the members of our Awards Committee independently select the most superior natural grass playing surfaces that exemplify both safety and playability," said Kim Heck, CAE, CEO of STMA. "We are excited by the significant number of applicants, which made for difficult decisions but shows the size, scope and continued innovation of the sports turf industry."

Awards will be presented at the 28th annual STMA Conference & Exhibition in Orlando, Florida Jan. 24-27, 2017. Nearly 1,200 leaders in the sports turf industry will meet at Disney's Colorado Springs Hotel for four days of cutting-edge educational seminars, exhibitor demonstrations and networking opportunities.

The Sports Turf Managers Association has recognized professionals in the sports turf management profession with the Field of the Year Award since 1992. For more information, visit the STMA online at

Comment Form is loading comments...

May 19, 2019, 12:24 am PDT

Website problems, report a bug.
Copyright © 2019 Landscape Communications Inc.