OPEI Officers & Directors

The OPEI, a nonprofit trade association that represents manufacturers and their suppliers of consumer and commercial outdoor power equipment, has announced its new Officers and Board of Directors. Lee Sowell of Techtronic Industries Power Equipment is the new chairman.

The Outdoor Power Equipment Institute has announced its 2015-2016 Officers and Board of Directors. The officers and new board members were chosen during the OPEI Annual Meeting, held June 23-25 in Santa Fe, N.M.

Officers for 2015-2016 are:

OPEI Chair: Lee Sowell, President, Outdoor Products at Techtronic Industries Power Equipment
Vice Chair: Tim Merrett, Vice President of A & T Global Platform and Turf & Utility, Deere & Company
Secretary/Treasurer: Daniel Ariens, President, Ariens Company
Immediate Past Chair: Paul Mullet, President, Excel Industries

"I am proud to be part of the outdoor power equipment industry, a member of OPEI, on the Board of Directors for OPEI, and especially to be Chairman for the 2015-16 year," said Lee Sowell. "I look forward to a productive year in this role - serving our industry and the OPEI member companies."

"OPEI is the voice of outdoor power equipment, utility vehicle, and small engine manufacturers. Our Board of Directors plays a key role in overseeing, inspiring, and leading our work," said Kris Kiser, President and CEO of OPEI. "We represent our members and their interests in Washington, D.C., educate the public about proper fueling for outdoor power equipment through our 'Look Before You Pump' campaign, and share safety standards and best practices."

Continuing their service on the OPEI Board of Directors are: Earl Bennett, General Counsel N.A. & L.A., Husqvarna Group; Edward Cohen, Vice President, Government & Industry Relations, Honda North America, Inc.; Tom Cromwell, Group President - Power, Kohler Company; Tim Dorsey, President, Echo Incorporated; Marc Dufour, President, Club Car; Peter Hampton, President, Active Exhaust Corporation; Jean Hlay, President and Chief Operating Officer, MTD Products Inc.; Michael Hoffman, Chairman, Chief Executive Officer, The Toro Company; Todd Teske, Chairman, President & CEO, Briggs & Stratton Corp.; and Fred Whyte, President, Stihl Incorporated.

Association news and events are listed at To view the calendar of upcoming events, visit, go to the "Associations/Events" tab and click on "Search for Events."

If your association has news and/or events that you would like featured on, please send your information via email to

HTML Comment Box is loading comments...

Related Stories

September 23, 2017, 11:16 am PDT

Website problems, report a bug.
Copyright © 2017 Landscape Communications Inc.

We Support
LO financially supports many asssociations through either the payment of dues, conference exhibits and/or discounted advertising

Last Updated 09-21-17
New Comic Every Monday & Thrusday.