Top Conservation Leaders Honored by NWF

The NWF, a nonprofit conservation organization that inspires Americans to protect wildlife, honored individuals and organizations who volunteer their time, commitment and service to the conservation movement at the annual Conservation Achievement Awards.

The National Wildlife Federation (NWF) recognized six honorees for their outstanding contributions to the conservation field at the annual Conservation Achievement Awards on May 14th.

"This year's award winners are rich in inspiration and leadership," said Collin O'Mara, president and CEO of National Wildlife Federation. "We are proud to recognize them and the contributions they have made to the conservation movement in America."

William McDonough, FAIA, Int. FRIBA, selected as the recipient of the J.N. "Ding" Darling Conservation Award for Lifetime Achievement, is a globally recognized designer, thought leader, sustainable growth pioneer, and the pre-eminent voice for ecologically intelligent design and what he calls "waging peace through commerce."

Jim Posewitz, awarded Conservationist of the Year, is a sportsmen leader held in the highest regard. A gifted historian, Mr. Posewitz tirelessly advocates on behalf of sportsmen for the importance of preserving and protecting wildlife and wild places.

The NYC iSchool, selected for the Education Award, opened in 2008 with 100 ninth grade students in a 100-plus-year-old school building in the SoHo area of Manhattan. For more information, visit

The Forest Stewardship Council, awarded the Organization Award, is an independent nonprofit organization that promotes environmentally sound, socially beneficial, and economically prosperous management of the world's forests. For more information, visit

Senator Debbie Stabenow from Michigan and Congressman Jeff Fortenberry from Nebraska were both awarded the Legislative Award. Senator Stabenow was elected to the United States Senate in 2000 and is the author of the 2014 Farm Bill, which contains the most far-reaching enhancements to land and water conservation policy in decades. A member of the Senate Agriculture Committee, Rep. Fortenberry advocated for provisions in the 2014 Farm Bill to protect our nation's wetlands and prairies as well as the wildlife that depend upon these ecosystems.

For more information about the 2015 NWF annual Conservation Achievement Awardees, please visit:

Association news and events are listed at To view the calendar of upcoming events, visit, go to the "Associations/Events" tab and click on "Search for Events."

If your association has news and/or events that you would like featured on, please send your information via email to

HTML Comment Box is loading comments...

Related Stories

September 23, 2017, 11:16 am PDT

Website problems, report a bug.
Copyright © 2017 Landscape Communications Inc.

We Support
LO financially supports many asssociations through either the payment of dues, conference exhibits and/or discounted advertising

Last Updated 09-21-17
New Comic Every Monday & Thrusday.