Product Search Engine

2010 APLD International Landscape Design Awards

Association of Professional Landscape Designers Presents: Annual International Landscape Design Awards Program Winners

Rain Bird
Playworld Came America

The Association of Professional Landscape Designers (APLD) announces its annual International Landscape Design Award winners. The awards will be presented at the APLD International Design Conference (Sept. 27 - Oct. 2) in Dallas.

Landscape designs in six categories were submitted for this year's program: residential, nonresidential, small garden, show garden, planting design and specialty project. The judging criteria included project impact, creativity, technical merit and planting design.

The judges were Robin Templar Williams, APLD, FSGD, C. Colston Burell, Norman Booth, FASLA, W. Gary Smith, ASLA, Julie Moir Messervy, Mark Gregory and Susan Appleget Hurst.

Each year, APLD bestows the coveted title of "Landscape Designer of the Year" to the highest valued entry in this competition. The 2010 APLD International Landscape Designer of the Year is James Doyle of James Doyle Design Associates, Greenwich, Conn., for his Harmony Farm project.

The top 10 awards are pictured here. For the complete list visit

Top 10 Awardees

Gold Award:
"2010 APLD International Landscape Designer of the Year"

James Doyle, James Doyle Design Associates, Greenwich, Conn.
Residential Design: Harmony Farm

Gold Award
Scott Brinitzer, Scott Brinitzer Design Associates, Arlington, Va.
Residential Design: Walsh-Sheridan

Merit Award
Douglas Owens-Pike, EnergyScapes, Inc, Minneapolis, Minn.
Specialty Project: Steve Kristo

Merit Award
Richard G Shuster, RG Shuster & Company, Southampton, N.Y.
Residential Design: Todd Drive Residence

Merit Award
Paul Connolly, APLD, Sundrea Design Studio, Tucson, Ariz.
Specialty Project: Bird of Paradise

Merit Award
Sabrena Schweyer, APLD, Salsbury-Schweyer, Inc, Akron, Ohio
Residential Design: Family Sanctuary

Merit Award
Richard J Harper, APLD, The Creative Landscaping Co, Chandler, Ind.
Specialty Project: The Great Treehouse Caper

Merit Award
Rick Laughlin, APLD, Laughlin Design Associates, Inc, Salt Lake City, Utah
Planting Design: Colorful Waterwise Garden

Merit Award
Bobbie Burdick, Burdick & Associates Landscape Design, Ellsworth, Maine
Planting Design: Coastal Maine Landscape

Merit Award
Axel Lohrer, lohrer.hochrein landscape architects, Munchen, Germany
Non-Residential Design: Rubenow Square

Related Stories

July 19, 2018, 11:58 pm PDT

Website problems, report a bug.
Copyright © 2018 Landscape Communications Inc.